

RVH sonographers are ahead of the curve providing quality care

Patients at Renfrew Victoria Hospital can trust in their community hospital to meet and exceed professional standards.

The sonographers who provide ultrasounds at Renfrew Victoria Hospital are proud to demonstrate their commitment to providing safe, effective, ethical care through professional regulation.

Recently, with the input of many levels of government, sonographers and other medical professions, legislation (MRIT Act) was put in place by the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care to regulate sonographers through a professional college.

"Our sonographers have always been at the top of their field having met all of Sonography Canada and American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (ARDMS) standards and continuing education requirements. Now sonographers will be certified the same as other medical radiation technologists specialized in X-ray, CT and MRI," says Lisa Wherry, RVH Manager, Medical Imaging.

When patients go to RVH for an ultrasound, they can be assured they will be treated by a regulated health professional like they would when they see a doctor, nurse or surgeon.

"This certification is evidence that patients, donors and the community at large can put their trust in RVH," says Sarah Robinson,

RVH Foundation Executive Director. "People can be assured they are receiving the best care provided by an entire team of dedicated professionals."

Rachelle O'Neill, one of seven RVH Sonographers, says she and her colleagues welcome the opportunity to become regulated by the professional body, and were able to successfully meet the stringent new

requirements because of the standards of excellence already in place at RVH.

"The process has been demanding and there is a cost associated, but it gives us a sense of professional recognition for the education and work we have been doing, and provides assurance for our patients that they are receiving the highest standard of care."



RVH's diagnostic medical sonographers will be registered with the College of Medical Radiation Technologists as of January 1, 2018, ensuring the future of the profession is regulated and the public's health is best served. Pictured, L to R, are: Rachel Pettigrew, Janice Gervais, Sarah Ewing (Algonquin Diagnostic Medical Sonography student), Rachelle O'Neill, and Debbie Tiernay. Missing: Paula Walker, Jodi Julius, and Kristine Millar.